List of countries expelling Russian diplomats

USA Today

List of countries expelling Russian diplomats

by Oren Dorell, USA Today March 26, 2018

     (Photo: YOAN VALAT, EPA-EFE

The United States and more than 20 other countries took coordinated action Monday to expel Russian diplomats in a show of solidarity with the United Kingdom over the nerve-agent attack against a former Russian spy in England.

Russia denies any involvement in the March 4 poisoning, which British authorities said involved a nerve agent called Novichuk, which was developed by the Soviet military.

Kremlin spokesman Dmitry Peskov said Russia’s response will be up to iPresident Vladimir Putin. “We will be guided by the principle of reciprocity as before,” Peskov said.

Here’s a look at the countries that announced measures and the number of Russians ordered to leave:

  • UNITED STATES: 60 Russian diplomats expelled. The Russian consulate in Seattle was ordered closed. It provided consular services to U.S. residents in Alaska, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Iowa, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, North Dakota, South Dakota, Oregon, Utah, Washington state and Wyoming, as well as Guam, American Samoa and the Northern Mariana Islands.
  • BRITAIN: 23 Russian diplomats expelled. Prime Minister Theresa May said 100 Russian intelligence officers were being expelled from their countries. “And together we have sent a message that we will not tolerate Russia’s continued attempts to flout international law and undermine our values,” May told Parliament.
  • CANADA: Four Russians expelled identified as intelligence officers or people who used diplomatic cover to undermine Canada’s security. Three applications for additional diplomatic staff were being denied.
  • UKRAINE: 13 Russian diplomats expelled. President Petro Poroshenko said the next step is to increase sanctions against Russia for international crimes. Russia annexed the Crimea Peninsula from Ukraine in 2014.
  • GERMANY, FRANCE, POLAND: Four Russian diplomats expelled from each country.
  • CZECH REPUBLIC, LITHUANIA: Three Russian diplomats expelled from each country. Lithuania also banned 44 Russian citizens from entering the country because of human rights violations, corruption or money laundering, according to the Latvian embassy in Washington.
  • SPAIN, NETHERLANDS, DENMARK, ITALY, ALBANIA: Two Russian diplomats from each country.
  • HUNGARY, SWEDEN, CROATIA, ROMANIA, FINLAND, ESTONIA, NORWAY: One Russian diplomat from each country.
  • LATVIA: One Russian diplomat, plus one Russian representative of a Russian company blacklisted.

Author: John Hanno

Born and raised in Chicago, Illinois. Bogan High School. Worked in Alaska after the earthquake. Joined U.S. Army at 17. Sergeant, B Battery, 3rd Battalion, 84th Artillery, 7th Army. Member of 12 different unions, including 4 different locals of the I.B.E.W. Worked for fortune 50, 100 and 200 companies as an industrial electrician, electrical/electronic technician.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *